the universe comes together.

But she was inside the wonderful garden, and she could come through the door under the ivy any time, and she felt as if she had found a world all her own.

in The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

2 responses to “the universe comes together.

  1. Sorry… I didn’t get it.
    What has this post to do with the non-existence of co-incidences?
    Tried to watch the video to know just that, but it isn’t available on youtube anymore

  2. Yes, an explanation is in order for those who don’t know me in real life and therefore have no way of knowing what the heck I’m going on about.

    You see, The Secret Garden is one of my most treasured stories from childhood. I watched that film (Agnieszka Holland, 1993) about a million times when I was a child, but only fairly recently read the actual book.

    Now, my one true love when it comes to music is dear Kate Bush, who happens to sing a very beautiful song: Under the Ivy. It’s a somewhat cryptic song and I never really “got” what she was going on about…

    …until I read that bit I quote in this post. Then it hit me. It all made sense: she’s singing about the secret garden and what it means. Over the years I’ve come to think of the secret garden as a metaphor for your heart, your thoughts and feelings. It’s that safe and secret place inside of you.

    I don’t know why the connection hadn’t occurred to me before. I’ve known and loved the song for years, but for some reason that one sentence in the book was key to my understanding.

    It’s very nice to know that my favourite childhood story and my favourite artist actually meet each other in some way — a way *outside* of my own secret garden. It’s a feeling of… I don’t know. It’s just nice.

    It also provides further evidence to back up a certain pet theory of mine: that everything in the Universe somehow relates to Kate Bush. Or maybe it’s just proof that I’m a bit obsessed, take your pick. (;

    Anyway, thanks for the comment. I posted this more for myself than others, but it feels good to elaborate on it.

    Also, thank you very much for pointing out the youtube broken links. They’re fixed now. The first one is live, the second the album version.

Leave a Reply

